The Wainwright Prize: Longlist

Named after nature writer Alfred Wainwright, the prizes are awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwright’s core values and include a celebration of nature and our natural environment or a warning of the dangers to it across the globe.

The Wainwright Prize for UK nature writing:
The book should be narrative driven with a subject that must be related to nature, the outdoors or travel writing (not guidebooks) covering Great Britain and Northern Ireland as a central theme.

The Wainwright Prize for writing on global conservation:
The books in this category will reflect efforts in or, studies relating to conservation or climate change as it affects nature and the outdoors. They should be narrative driven and could be global in scope.

Longlist Announcement – 24th June
Shortlist Announcement – 4th August TBC
Ceremony – 7th September TBC

Wainwright Prize 2021 – UK Nature Writing

Wainwright Prize 2021: Writing on Global Conservation Longlist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *