Without Ever Reaching the Summit, Paolo Cognetti

£10.99

Author Paolo Cognetti Published by Harvill Secker ISBN 9781787302273 EAN 9781787302273 Bic Code Cover Hardback

SKU: 9781787302273 Category: Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Description

Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet. He took with him two friends, a notebook, mules and guides, and a well-worn copy of ‘The Snow Leopard.’ Written in 1978, Matthiessen’s classic was also turning forty, and Cognetti set out to walk in the footsteps of the great adventurer. ‘Without Ever Reaching the Summit’ combines travel journal, secular pilgrimage, literary homage and sublime mountain writing in a short book for readers of Macfarlane, Rebanks and Cognetti’s own bestseller, ‘The Eight Mountains.’ An investigation into the author’s physical limits, an ancient mountain culture, and the magnificence of nature, it is an awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Without Ever Reaching the Summit, Paolo Cognetti”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *