Bookseller Reviews, Kim – Blood and Honey (Serpent & Dove Book 2) by Shelby Mahurin

Bookseller Reviews – Blood and Honey (Serpent & Dove Book 2) by Shelby Mahurin

I have been reading like crazy over this lockdown and I’ve nearly hit my goal of reading 30 books this year which I’m very happy about.

This year I’ve been going out of my comfort zone and reading a lot more non-fiction and I’m currently loving the Salt Path by Raynor Winn – whose interview with Rachel Joyce was a joy to watch during The Stroud Book Festival. But, as a self confessed fantasy nerd this time of year feels perfect for sitting with a mug of coffee or a cheeky glass of red wine and immersing myself in a fantasy world – for me there is nothing better! At the moment I am enjoying The Invisible Life of Addie Larue by V. E. Schwab and starting my reread of the Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson so I’m up to date for the new release Rhythm of War and I honestly couldn’t be happier!

We are keeping busy in the shop answering the phone, emails, online enquiries and orders. We are getting books, advent calender’s and many other fab products out to customers who are in need of a good read or are getting some Christmas shopping done.

Thank you to all our customers supporting us during these strange times.

Review

Now onto my review – I have been obsessed by the Serpent and Dover series by Shelby Mahurin

This series follows Lou, a witch, who has a sad past and must hide herself and her magical abilities to protect the rhelm and herself. The first book follows a Witch-hunter, Reid, an orphan bought up by the church who has one principle ‘Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live’. In strange circumstances the pair must be married. A story of two opposing backgrounds putting their differences aside for the good of the rhelm.

SPOILERS IF YOU HAVE NOT READ BOOK ONE

This book continues the story in a whirlwind of magic, adventure, friendship, love, and strained relationships. The characters are all put to the test when they must defeat evil and put their differences and prejudices aside to protect the world.

After escaping the Les Dames Blanches Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel must find allies in other blood witches, werewolves and a strange troupe of travelling performers to have any chance in the upcoming battle. They must use their wits, magic and disguises in a race against time whilst battling their inner demons;

Reid must come to terms with the decision he made in saving Lou and escaping the Les Dames Blanches. Lou must face her demons in her bid to not become a monster like her mum. Ansel has a lot of growing up to do and must come to terms with his abilities. Coco has to return to her coven to ask for help facing the family she left behind.

Like the first book in series I could not put it down – The romantic tension and suspense in this fantasy world was gripping from page one. It has put fear into me for the next book as I feel no character is safe and the stakes are very high. This book broke my heart and I honestly cannot wait for book 3 Gods and Monsters which won’t be published until 3rd August 2021!

If you’re a fan of young adult fantasy with a hate to love romance, complicated protagonists, amazing friendships and a real adventure this book is most certainly for you! My one warning is this book is definitely an older young adult book.

I highly recommend this series for fans of Sarah J Maas, Holly Black, Leigh Bardugo, and Brigid Kemmerer.

Blurb

The stakes are higher. The witches are deadlier. And the romance is red-hot. The eagerly anticipated sequel to the New York Times and Indiebound bestseller Serpent & Dove is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and is an instant New York Times bestseller!

Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church-fugitives with nowhere to hide.

To survive, they need allies. Strong ones. But as Lou becomes increasingly desperate to save those she loves, she turns to a darker side of magic that may cost Reid the one thing he can’t bear to lose. Bound to her always, his vows were clear: where Lou goes, he will go; and where she stays, he will stay.

Until death do they part.

What I’m Currently Reading

New Releases I’m Excited About

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *